Internal Dialogue

Prompt 70: Pick a character in a day time soap and put him or her in a stranded commuter train. Write about what he or she is feeling or thinking at that moment.

Internal Dialogue

Oh no, why are we stopped? I can’t be late to my appointment. I just can’t understand why all this is happening to me. What did I do to deserve all of this? First my father impregnated my sister, then my brother died in that horrible car accident. But wait, Andrew is still alive. I saw him yesterday. Or maybe that was just his ghost. It is so hard to tell. My mother comes back to talk to me all the time, so why can’t Andrew. I don’t know what we are going to do about Jessica’s baby. My father won’t let her give it up for adoption but here I am going to meet the adoptive parents. How was I supposed to know that the McKenna’s were adopting. Travis told me last night at the hotel that he was leaving his wife. Why isn’t the train moving yet? What am I going to say to Travis’s wife? I wonder if she will be prettier than me.

Leave a Reply

