“Incident at Hawk’s Hill”

What was your favorite book as a kid? Recount the way it made you feel when you read it.

Incident at Hawk’s Hill

I was in sixth grade and we were moving to Grandma Bice’s big white house. Our trailer had almost literally fell apart under us and grandma lived by heself. So in the course of a few days we moved her into a trailer (a whole one) and us into her huge five bedroom house.

I remember everyone around me cleaning stuff out and packing boxes, but all I wanted to do was finish the book I had started. They had moved mom’s brown chair into the kitchen so I could sit there and be out of everyone’s way and I read it all afternoon. I could not put the book down.

If you haven’t read it: the story is about a young boy who gets lost in the woods. He comes across a mother badger who lost all her babies when her foot was caught in a metal trap. She chewed her foot off to get to her babies but they were all dead when she got to them. The mother badger took the boy in as her own. He even drank her milk.

Even now just thinking about it gives me goose bumps. It was such a good story. I cried all the way to the end. When the boy went back to his human family I cried even harder. I don’t have the book now, but I wish I did just to see if it still chokes me up or if I would find it unbelievable now.

The book is by: Allan W. Eckert

Leave a Reply

