6/28

Prompt: I don’t think anyone is really reading this, so for today I am going to post an exerpt from my book that I am working on.

Being a werewolf is harder than it looks. Everyone thinks it is just “morph at the full moon, kill, morph back”. That’s not true. It is a lot harder than that, especially if you are 17 years old. All I wanted at the start of my junior year in high school was to stay in one place long enough to make a friend. Staying in one place was hard for Bella. She never could keep herself out of trouble.

I sighed deeply, almost groaning, as I began to unpack my things. I was a professional mover by the time I was 17. I left all my clothes in two trunks that I set up against the wall. Bella always managed to rent houses that were furnished, but I hardly used the dresser or closets, trunks were easier. This house was nicer though because I didn’t have to share a room with Ivy. She was just one year younger than me, but we were worlds apart. She saw humans as beneath her, and all I wanted was to be one of them. I tucked my hair absently behind my ears. After Bella told us two years ago that long hair made a woman beautiful, I kept mine short. It just barely went below my chin. It was more red than blond, but somehow managed to look orange. I had a natural curl in my hair, but it was so tight that it often just ended up frizzy. I thought I looked like a young Molly Ringwald. My eyes were a pale green and my skin was extremely fair. I don’t know what color Molly’s eyes were. I liked to fantasize that Molly would adopt me and tell everyone I was her daughter.

My sister Ivy, however, loved the life that we had. There was only one time that I could recall when she had thrown a fit about moving. She had gotten herself a boyfriend and refused to go. We stayed there for six months, the longest we had stayed in one place for the last three years. Then ivy turned 13. She morphed in front of her boyfriend. His obituary said he died in a house fire. Bella had laughed and congratulated Ivy on her first kill. It was disgusting, but I think Ivy felt bad. At any rate, she never had another boyfriend. She had a lot of guys asking too. She was beautiful, in the worldly way. She had red hair like mine, but hers was a rich auburn color and she kept it long. And of course, her natural curl was more of just a wave that flowed down her back. Her eyes were a piercing blue, and she used them to her advantage. I don’t believe she did any of her own homework in the last town we stayed.

I shook my head and thought ahead to Monday. School would start. A new start. Maybe in this school, I could be a cheerleader, I thought forlornly. I always thought that if I had remained human I would have been one of those bubbly cheerleading types. True, not much sustenance for adulthood, but I was 17 and I wanted to be bubbly. I wanted the quarter back of the football team to pass me in the hall and say “Hey Willow, what’s up” as he flirtatiously winked at the girl next to me. “Its not fair,” I mumbled under my breath.

Leave a Reply

