1/4

Prompt 49: What do you do on a rainy day? Write about it in 250 words.

Rainy day

On the very rainiest of days, the kind when you can not possibly go outside, this is the kind of day when I decide to board the pirates ship. I have been looking at it for a while now. It is moored just in my line of sight. It’s probably a bad idea, but maybe…

I shake my head to dispel the haunting images of the last time I saw my sister. It was a different pirate ship, another day, but still the same. Pirates! With a firm resolve, my mind is set. I can just stow away on the ship, stay completely hidden. They would never even know I was there. Then they would take me to their secret world and I would find Isabella. I breathed deeply through my nose and crept to the very edge of the plank. Without giving myself a chance to change my mind, I plunged into the icy waters. I wasn’t expecting the waves to be so rough, the water to be so cold. I sucked in a big gulp of air. No turning back now, even if I wanted to. I forced my frigid arms to start working again, to take me to the ship waiting patiently for me to board. I wasn’t counting on the captain of the ship to be watching me as I half drowned, half swam towards him. And I certainly didn’t expect a pirate to be so…handsome.

This is my rainy days…making up stories.

Leave a Reply

