11/15

Prompt 11: Below are 3 sets of words. Use all the words in each set to write mini stories in 300 words or less:

Set 1: paper clips, principal, lunchbox, swing, girl with a pink ribbon

Set 2: biology, class card, foreign student, leaf, blood sample

Set 3: typewriter, filing cabinet, puncher, clerk, carbon paper, janitor

Story 1:

What I did for Love

“Do you see her yet?” my best friend Billy nudged my shoulder.

“Who?” I pretended not to know.

Billy’s eyes bulged. “The girl with the pink ribbon.”

“She has a name you know,” I mumbled. Yeah, I had seen her. I knew where she was without even looking. Emily always spent recess on the swings. But when my eyes swung over to get a glimpse. She wasn’t there.

“Nate,” a girl’s voice called me. “Nate.” It was Nadine, Emily’s best friend and she looked really upset.

“What’s wrong?” I asked without pausing to think about her girl status.

“It’s Emily.”

“Emily?” My Emily? “What is it? Where is she?’

“She lost her lunchbox,” Nadine sobbed.

“Why is that such an emergency?” Billy complained loudly.

“She had something in it that was very important.” Nadine wagged her head sadly.

“Where is her lunchbox?” Billy looked at me like I had just lost my mind, but Emily was the prettiest girl in fourth grade. I had to help her.

“The principal took it.”
“What?” Why would old Mr. Jenks want a lunchbox for? “Come on Billy, we have to get it.”

“No way, we’ll be in a lot of trouble if we get caught.”

“We won’t get caught,” I hissed.

Billy stood nervously outside the office door to watch while I used a paper clip to open the door to Mr. Jenks office. Just when I was ready to give up, I spied the lunchbox on top of the bookshelf. I snatched it and me and Billy ran back to the playground where Emily was waiting for us.

“Here,” I gasped, breathless from our run.

“Now what was so important in there,” Billy demanded.

Emily smiled and opened the box. It looked normal to me, a sandwich, drink. I couldn’t see anything worth risking my life over. “This is for you Nate,” she smiled shyly and pulled a sheet of paper from the bottom.

After her and Nadine ran away I opened the paper. “Do you like me. Yes or No?” With a whoop, I showed the paper to Billy. “Worth risking our lives for,” I exclaimed.

Story 2:

Lessons in Blood

Maddie Clark groaned when she got to the biology room. They were doing blood samples today. She should have listened to her best friend Lily when she begged her to skip school today and go shopping with them. Now she was stuck giving up some of her blood. She groaned again when she saw the class cards. She was paired with Mikal, the foreign student from France. He probably wouldn’t even understand what was going on.

Mrs. Linnette snapped her fingers to call everyone to order. Blood sampling had everyone in an uproar. Mrs. Linnette was an odd woman with coke bottle glasses and bushy hair that almost always had a leaf or two in it. It was an ongoing joke throughout the class to make bets on what she’d have trapped in her hair.

Maddie slipped into her seat next to Mikal. She smiled attentively. Maybe this wouldn’t be so bad, she thought when he flashed his own dazzling smile her way, he was really cute. His dark brown eyes were friendly and his matching hair hung perfectly just below his chin. He was like something from a magazine.

“Uh…” Maddie fumbled for the right words, “do you know what we’re doing today?”

“Yes,” he answered flawlessly, “I get to stab you.” His teeth flashed again to show that he was joking.

Definitely not so bad. “Yeah,” she smiled.

“Alright class,” Mrs. Linnette called, “these are your test cards and needles.” She handed out a set to each pair. “One drop in each square is all you need.”

Mikal looked a little uncomfortable at the sight of Maddie’s blood on the card. “You ok?’ She asked lightheartedly, but he didn’t answer. Mikal stood up and backed away from the table.

“I think I am going to be sick,” he moaned.

“Mrs. Linnette?” Oh man, she hoped he didn’t puke right here.

Suddenly Mikal dropped down to all fours, holding his stomach. Mrs. Linnette finally realized there was something wrong. She came over to investigate, placing her hand on Mikal’s shoulder. There was a flash of movement and all Maddie could see was blood.

Mikal’s face had changed drastically and was covered in blood. Mrs. Linnette’s blood. Maddie screamed and bolted for the door, but Mikal was too fast. He sprung forward and locked the door. “I knew I should have skipped,” Mikal snarled. He took a step towards Maddie and all she could see were his long glistening fangs.

Story 3:

Ghost of Madam Brisoe

Janice Krine sat at her typewriter, furiously trying to catch up on her notes. Being the clerk at the courthouse was a job she had wanted for a long time, but these late nights were not something she was prepared for. Most nights of the week she was here alone with only the janitor to keep her company. Janice didn’t believe the stories of the ghost that haunted this place, but it was creepy at night.

She looked up from her work when she heard footsteps just outside of her office. “Stan, is that you?” she called. When she didn’t hear anything else, she shrugged and went back to work. She had to finish just a few more pages and then she could go home.

“Janice!”

Janice looked up, distinctly hearing foot steps this time. Maybe there was something wrong. She opened the door and peered down the long empty hallway. “Stan?” Behind her, the file cabinet drawer flew open. “Wh..” She whirled around. A piece of carbon paper fluttered to the floor. “Who’s there?” Her voice was shaking.

“Janice!”

That was it, she was just going to finish tomorrow. She was out of there! The hole puncher on her desk began to bounce on its own. Janice’s eyes widened and her heart began to beat wildly. What was going on here?

“Janice!”

She whirled around at the sound of her name again and came face to face with an old woman wearing a long white gown. “Wh…who are you?” she asked with a shaking voice.

“I am lady Brisoe.”

“How did you get in here?”

“I live here.”

Janice backed further into her office and bumped into the desk. She looked around for her cell phone to call for help, but when she looked back up, the lady was gone.

“Mrs. Krine,” Ernie called.

“Ernie, did you see that lady?” she asked desperately.

“I only see you. I heard you screaming. Are you ok?”

“I wasn’t screaming. There was a lady her.”

“I didn’t see any lady.”

“I am leaving Ernie. I can’t stay here!”

“Come on, I’ll walk you out.”

Leave a Reply

