11/5

Prompt: Close your eyes briefly. Think of one object that’s in the room and focus on it. Without opening your eyes, recall as much detail as you can about it.  After 3 minutes or so, open your eyes and write about that object without looking at it.

My Couch

My couch is a sad sort of thing.  It has to be from the seventies, maybe earlier than that.  Heck, now that I think of it, maybe I can get some money out of it for being an antique.  I could go on Antique Roadshow and he’d be like I think at a good auction this couch could go for 8 to ten thousand dollars.  And I could shake my head and be like “I had no idea.”  Anyways, probably not.  We only have heat in the living room and a little in the dining room.  (We have one of those huge square deals that is probably older than the couch)  So we all sleep in the living room once the temps drop outside.  My dad bought me this couch a few weeks ago from a local thrift store for 80 bucks.  The main reason was for the bed that was inside the couch.  It conveniently folds up so you can hide it during the day.  Genius really.  It is sort of a brown color with huge orange flowers splattered all over it.  And the bar on the bed part cuts into my back.  I usually wait for the kids to fall asleep and go freeze in my bed.

Leave a Reply

